Tuesday, July 10, 2007

"Celebrating the finest in journalism" - Really?

As a jouranalist, I am really sceptical how a jury that counts not a single journalist as a member can select the "finest" in journalism. I am referring to the annual Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards 2006-07.

The jury includes:

Bakul Dholakia (IIM Ahmedabad Director)
Deepak Parekh (HDFC Chairman)
Fali S Nariman (Lawyer)
Keshub Mahindra (Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd Chairman)
M S Swaminathan (Agriculture Expert)
Naresh Chandra (Former Diplomat)
N R Narayanana Murthy (Infosys Chief Mentor)
Rama Bijapurkar (Market Expert)
Shobhana Bharatia (Hindustan Times Vice-Chairperson)
Shyam Benegal (Filmmaker)
and Subir Raha (Former ONGC CMD)

The closest one gets to journalism is with Bharatia... but then god would need to bail out Indian journalism if she were to run the actual show of writing and editing. Didn't the Express Group find a single unbiased journalist to go with these names? Do we really lack such stalwarts? Journalism is also about good writing... Yet, not even a writer on the jury! And they say they will choose the "finest" in journalism! Yeah, right.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home